Early Advertising Campaign

uvbus (2)

Here’s another weird thing I got from eBay. It’s a mock-up for proposed Ultraverse advertising on city buses. It’s not very big, just a couple of inches tall and about seven inches wide.

Here’s how it was described in the auction:

A rare relic salvaged from the fallen Malibu Comics empire… When an ad agency was tasked with creating bus ads for the Ultraverse, they sent Malibu execs this mock-up of how the projected campaign would look.
Recovered from an ex-Malibu employee who was there.
Insanely rare. Only a handful ever made.

Here is a picture of an actual bus advertisement, courtesy of Ultraverse co-founder Tom Mason (he says it came from the advertising agency and is dated from 1994).

uvbuspic

You can watch one of the buses in action (sort of) in the 1994 movie The Chase, starring Charlie Sheen. No, seriously, you can watch it on Youtube. At about the 10:50 mark you get a quick glimpse of this:

uvbus

And at that point you really should quit watching.

About depluto

I picked depluto as a screen name years ago when I signed up for AOL. I still use it for a lot of things including posting on some forums. View all posts by depluto

2 responses to “Early Advertising Campaign

  • Ruben

    Late 1993, there was one of those posters on a bus bench of Prime flying at you. My friend was a big fan. Middle of the night, we unscrewed the brackets and took the cardboard poster. I think to this day he still has it.

  • Doug Woodall

    I found one of the posters in my sons closet. It has a autograph on it, looks like Len Stuart? Can send a pic. I’m on FB by the way if you need to check me out.

Leave a comment