UV Creators: Chris Ulm

It’s hard to imagine someone had more of an impact on the Ultraverse than Chris Ulm.

Ulm was there from the beginning as one of the founding partners at Malibu, and helped develop the foundations for the comic universe. He graciously took the time to answer a few questions about the Ultraverse and what he is doing today.

What was your job title at Malibu and what were your responsibilities?

I was the Editor-In-Chief and a founding partner of Malibu, helping to build the company from its earliest days (along with Scott Rosenberg, Tom Mason and Dave Olbrich). As regards the Ultraverse, I came up with the original idea for a writer’s based universe and recruited the original founding fathers and supervised the in-house editors and writers. In addition, I co-created Rune (with Barry Windsor-Smith) as well as a bunch of other characters.

Do you have a favorite memory from working on the Ultraverse?

Too many to count. Working with the original founders and developing a universe based on a comprehensive background and enormously inventive characters was the high point of my career in comics. I really enjoyed the speed at which we could build an entire universe and bring it to life and I think some of the characters are true classics that I hope we will see again in the future.

What is your favorite Ultraverse-related project that you worked on?

I really liked all of them, to be honest. I enjoyed the characters a great deal and felt personally driven to make sure the creative teams were able to do their best work, despite a tough publishing environment and lots of competition (Dark Horse had released their superhero universe at the same time). I am very proud of the body of work that makes up the UV.

Mostly, I miss the speed at which we could bring new characters and concepts to market and the terrific creative talent it was my privilege to work with. Malibu was a special place and as I have progressed through my career as a creative director, game maker and storyteller I am reminded daily that companies like Malibu are very few and far between.

Do you have a favorite souvenir or collectible from the Ultraverse that you kept all these years?

I’ve got all the comics in bags as well as the toys and CD Romix! Probably my favorite is the Ghoul action figure. Everybody needs one.

What are you up to these days?

Today, I am the CEO of Appy Entertainment, a game company that is “Deadly Serious About Stupid Fun.” We make original games for the iPhone, iPod touch and iPad which have been downloaded over 8 million times. We view the app market as a place where new ideas and concepts can take root, much like the comic book industry in the 90’s. Check out Zombie Pizza, FaceFighter, and Trucks & Skulls to see what we are up to!

About depluto

I picked depluto as a screen name years ago when I signed up for AOL. I still use it for a lot of things including posting on some forums. View all posts by depluto

Leave a Reply

